Change: Transition at Kaiser Permanente

Maria_Lauren_(aka)_Maria_Elena_Alberici_Riccio_national_fitness_champion

Maria Lauren, (aka) Maria E. Riccio, Lifestyle Educator

Change and Stretch!

Sometimes we need to get out of a rut; we need a diversion to feel alive. Change! Sometimes it comes and we lose our bearings; we feel out of control. One thing is certain, change will come whether we ask for it or not.

Presently, I am in transition at work as a Lifestyle Educator. Plans are being made for me to move from Kaiser Permanente’s Health Education Department at Woodland Hills to a bigger facility at Panorama City. I will still be teaching fitness classes but will miss some of my faithful patients that I have been instructing, within my five years of service. I am so proud of them for making the healthy choice to put exercise into their lives. It was my pleasure to encourage and educate my exercise participants to get stronger, more flexible and feel better about themselves while working with a variety of ages and physical capabilities in Yoga, Tai-Chi, Pilates and Dance Exercise classes. We had fun!

Change is scary or it can be an adventure. It can be a time to reinvent, to meet new people and to look at things in a different light. A change of scenery is good but right now, we wait and have patience … Yikes, I’m feeling anxious!!!

This is my first blog post for “Your Powerful Life.” My posts are about LIFE: Living, Inspiration, Fitness, Entertainment…. I pray that God’s blessings will fill your life with direction, wisdom, love, joy and peace. I also wish this for myself. Blessings are abundant!

On this Blog, I will keep you posted about my fitness classes and about my performances as an entertainer. This is also a place where I’ll be sharing tips for healthy living and ideas that are inspirational; a place where I can put the spotlight on the positive and that is powerful.

I look forward to hearing from you,

Maria Lauren (AKA) Maria Elena Alberici – Riccio

Your Powerful LIFE blog

* * *

Maria Lauren continues to make personal appearances as an entertainer, motivational speaker and coach. Contact: YGTPower@aol.com

“Beyond Our Wildest Dreams” book 

“Relax-n-Renew” CD 

Maria’s Website 

Kaiser Permanente Health Education classes  

maria_lauren_riccio_alberici_fitness_kaiser_permanente_fitness_champ_lifestyle_educatorThis is a blog about LIFE: Living, Inspiration, Fitness, Entertainment…. It is produced in my own time and solely reflects my personal opinions. Statements on this site do not represent the views or policies of my employer, past or present, or any other organization with which I may be affiliated. All content is copyrighted. 
9 thoughts on “Change: Transition at Kaiser Permanente

  1. Dear Maria, I’ve enjoyed the “fitness” classes at Kaiser and it seems that you will no longer be teaching there. Is there anywhere else I can attend your classes? Please let me know – I need to sign up somewhere soon. I’ve always enjoyed your classes. Thank You

    • Hi! It’s so nice to hear from you, Rebecca. This week I have met the wonderful staff in the Health Education Dept. at Kaiser Permanente in Panorama City. You can find out about fitness class updates by calling the front desk at 818-375-3018. At this facility, I am using my married name, Maria E. Riccio.

      I will be teaching new exercise classes by the New Year!

      Best wishes in health,
      Maria

    • Hi, Lois:

      I’ve started at Panorama City as a Lifestyle Educator and set up with a computer, phone etc. to start promotion. Yes, I will be teaching my Pilates class that you were so dedicated to and I’ll be teaching a Tai-Chi class and Arthritis fitness class too.
      I’ll keep you updated in the next few months.

      God bless,
      Maria

  2. Dear Maria,

    I want to thank you for the wonderful exercise classes that you teach at Kaiser Medical Center at Woodland Hills. I have enjoyed taking tai chi, yoga, pilates and the arthritis exercises for the past three years except for time out for my recent left hip replacement surgery and recovery. Taking your advice, I started back to exercise slowly with Tai-Chi. Now, it feels good to be taking the arthritis class, pilates and yoga again. I feel the exercises helped speed the recovery of this octagenerian from the surgery. A special treat was the dance steps you introduced in the arthritis classes. I recently saw a stage performers doing one of the steps and I said to myself “I can do that.”

    See you in class.
    Dean

    • Dear Dean:

      Thank you for your kind words. I’m so glad that I could be of service to your fitness and I appreciate your commitment.

      Although, I have been hired by the health education department at Kaiser in Panorama City, I can not give you an exact date of when I will start teaching fitness classes there. Please be patient and I will let you know of any new developments.

      Many of your fellow students are eager to start classes with me too.

      Keep the faith, it will happen.

      Blessings,
      Maria

  3. I’ve been taking classes with you for over 3 years (except for time off for tumor removal). At Kaiser Permanente I especially enjoyed the fitness combo where we did some dancing, pilates, tai chi and balance enhancement. You motivate your students to do the best that they can. The yoga class (I am currently taking) is wonderful and I leave it feeling so great. I am 76 years old and you are so patient with everyone you teach. All the best to you and your daughter Marianna who is lucky to have a mom like you.

    Love, Diane

    • Hi! Diane:

      It’s good to hear from you. You have been a delight in my class.

      I have good news! It’s official, all the paper work has gone through and I will be teaching my fitness classes at Kaiser in Panorama City. My employment starts on November 1, but I’m not sure when I will start teaching classes.

      I will keep you posted. Till then, God bless you.
      Maria

    • Hi! Some more good news! We’re starting classes in time for the Holidays!

      I will be teaching Pilates, Tai-Chi and an exercise class for those with less mobility and conditions like Arthritis starting November 24 and 25 at Kaiser in Panorama City.
      I look forward to seeing my faithful participants at my new location. Sign up ASAP at: 818-375-3806. Thanks.

      See you soon,
      Maria

Leave a Reply

