Three Generations of Women – Father’s Day

                                                         

Three Generations: Alberici Sisters with mom and daughters

Women have a kinship but where would we be without the men who have touched our lives? Yes, we enjoy doing girly things together, talking about our lives, relationships and feelings but we still want the attention of men. As young girls we look up to our dads for strength. When we get older we may realize our dad’s weaknesses but he is always special to us. No one can take the place of our dad.

When I was a young girl, I remember my dad being playful, hard-working and always encouraging me to be my best. He would challenge me and all my brothers and sisters to do exercises. With one swoop, he would give us a fun ride. Sometimes, this activity caused loose change to fall out of his pockets and we would quickly scurry to snatch up the money and put it in our piggy banks.

Most of all, dad was a great source of motivation to me. He believed in me more than I believed in myself. Sometimes, I feel his presence with me even though his spirit has passed on.

Both my parents have always supported their nine children, whether we wanted to be entertainers or forest rangers. As in any family, there were struggles but we knew our parents had our best interest at heart. Their mission to instill healthy values in us has been carried on to our children.

My father exercised every morning and taught me to exercise. The legacy continues as I teach healthy values and exercise classes at Kaiser Permanente. I’m proud to be a part of their mission to deliver high-quality, affordable health care. Recently, Computer World magazine announced Kaiser as a 2010 Best Places to Work in Information Technology. It’s a pleasure to promote the benefits of fitness in this dynamic and diverse work environment.  

Being of service at work, at home or in your community is a blessing. My heart feels sad for the many children who grow up without a father. Some men choose to be absentee fathers doing what they want to do, when they want to do it. They are losing out on the most important role of molding a life which is a part of them. I respect the tremendous amount of fortitude it must take for a single mom. God bless them.

Pictured above are three generations of Woman … My mom Lillian, my sister Linda and her daughter Lindsay, my daughter Marianna and myself celebrating Lindsay’s 21st birthday and acceptance to U.C. Berkeley. While mom visited us on the west coast we celebrated Father’s Day too.

For all those dads that are leading their children the best way they know how, ‘Happy Father’s Day, everyday!’

Remembering my dad in heaven too. “Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in Him. He will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream.” – Jeremiah 17: 7-8

What are your favorite memories of your dad?

Many blessings,

Maria Lauren, AKA Maria Elena Alberici – Riccio

Your Powerful LIFE blog 

***

* Maria Lauren is currently making personal appearances, entertaining and coaching. Contact: YGTPower@aol.com

Alberici Sisters: Maria Lauren and Linda Eichberg co-wrote Beyond Our Wildest Dreams about entertaining with iconic stars like the Rat Pack while keeping healthy values: www.BeyondOurWildestDreams.com

Website: www.MariaLauren.com 

http://www.linkedin.com/pub/maria-lauren-riccio/15/295/285

www.LindaEichberg.com

http://southerncalifornia.kaiserpermanente.org/panoramacity/prevention-wellness/health-education/

www.MariannaRiccio.com

Maria-Lauren-Alberici-RiccioThis is a personal blog, produced in my own time and solely reflecting my personal opinions. Statements on this site do not represent the views or policies of my employer, past or present, or any other organization with which I may be affiliated. All content is copyrighted.

7 thoughts on “Three Generations of Women – Father’s Day

  1. Pingback: Weight of the Nation: Obesity Prevention « YourPowerfulLIFE Blog

  2. I hope you had a wonderful mothers day, and thank you for your reflections of good and positive things and the message of Love. I miss all of you very much and hope you are all doing great. Your friend.

    Steve Apple

  3. It was a blessing that we could all be together for Lindsay’s 21st. Thanks to Alison for capturing that picture.
    I like your bible verse from Jeremiah, in memory of dad, one of my favorites. I miss him. Love, sis

  4. I find this blog very well put. As women, we always seem to find a certain bond of strength and beauty within ourselves and with fellow women, yet where would we be without men? I can’t deny a moment where I havn’t needed a guy, whether it be their strong muscles to lift stuff for me …etc. 🙂
    But also, what about our daddys? I have friends in my own life who are single mothers and I admire their strength and courage. However, I also have friends who are proud fathers and are there for their child in the most sufficient way they possibly can.
    My dad has been there for me in probably more ways than I can handle. For example, last night I was out untill 4:30 am for a BET pre-party honoring Drake at Jamie Foxx’s home, and my dad couldn’t sleep until he knew I was home. Although, that drives me CRAZY because I know my dad needs rest, a little ounce of me knows that he’s just worried about the safety of his little girl.
    To the fathers who love and are there for their children, I salute you! To the ones who may be in a struggling situation and are fighting to give their children everything and anything, I salute you for your ability to keep trying and keep the flow of love alive.

Leave a Reply

