Breathe and Sing!

     

“Hands for Hope” youth with Maria Lauren

Singing and making a joyful sound, feels good! Why? To breathe deeply and sing renews your body, mind and spirit as energy circulates through your body and cleanses your internal organs.  There is a Swedish Proverb that states, “Those who wish to sing always find a song.”

I always enjoyed listening to a group of children singing their hearts out. Their enthusiastic expressions touches my heart. So, it was a pleasure to give voice lessons to a receptive group of inner-city children at the after-school enrichment program, Hands for Hope. It was a hot afternoon with no air conditioning in the class room but none of us seemed to mind. There was a cool satisfaction in the air as we all raised our voices to sing. 

Hands for Hope is having an Anniversary Gala celebrating ten years of excellence at the Sheraton Universal. The date is 10-10-10 and the evening’s theme is the music of the Cotton Club with the added attraction of a Dancing with The Stars contest. So, put on your dancing shoes! Find out more about Hands for Hope.

~~~

 Joyce_GarroA shout out to fellow entertainers, Jimmy Kimmel and Adam Corolla for hosting and lending the use of the TV stage set for the fund-raising gala of the ninth annual Feast of San Gennaro in Hollywood which helps our community. It was stream lined over the internet for our troops too. My friend and colleague Joyce Garro, with whom I performed in the Dean Martin’s Golddiggers performed a variety songs, including Italian favorites and the crowd ate it up! Of course they did; Joyce is a seasoned singer!

~~~

 When I’m not entertaining with my sister as The Alberici Sisters, I’m a Lifestyle Educator with the Health Education department at Kaiser Permanente. We strive to give patients the tools to “Thrive” by including fitness classes like Pilates and informative classes like Smoking Cessation.

 HEALTHY TIPS: If you want to beat a bad habit that is hindering your health or taking your joy away, consider doing something constructive in place of it. Try deep breathing and singing, going for a walk or meditating. Give yourself a positive talk and focus on why you want to be free from patterns that are destructive.

Walt Whitman said, “I celebrate myself and sing myself.” Sometimes you can find yourself or your voice by helping someone else find their voice. The next step is harmony.

Let us be grateful to people who make us happy; they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.” ~ Marcel Proust

 It takes a village,

 Maria Lauren – yourpowerfullife 

(AKA: Maria Elena Alberici – Riccio)

***

Maria Lauren continues to teach singing principles with coaching and teaches a healthy lifestyle at Kaiser Permanente.

Since the early 90’s, Maria Lauren has directed youth in the performing arts in the program, You Got The Power ™.

Alberici-Sisters-book,-

Maria Lauren and her sister, Linda Eichberg (Alberici Sisters) are entertainers and have sung with legendary icons of the 20th Century including the Rat Pack and wrote a book about it called Beyond Our Wildest Dreams available on-line at  Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

 

This is a blog about LIFE: Living, Inspiration, Fitness, Entertainment… It is produced in my own time and solely reflects my personal opinions. Statements on this site do not represent the views or policies of my employer, past or present, or any other organization with which I may be affiliated. All content is copyrighted.

6 thoughts on “Breathe and Sing!

  1. “I celebrate myself and I sing myself.” This quote from your blog really spoke out to me. The chaos of life can sometimes take a toll on me, and it is important to give myself positive reinforcement. Along with prayer, this quote seems almost therapuetic to repeat.

    Another suggestion that I had for postive thinking is to think of my inner child like in the movie Peter Pan, where Peter tells the children that if they think “happy thoughts,” then they will fly! Well, I want to “fly” in every aspect of my life, so thinking happily is something I strive to do everyday 🙂

    Helping others and reaching out to others is another aspect of life that is so important to pursue. I think that giving voice lessons to these children for the after school program was such an important task. The arts in our society should be more prevalent in our youths’ lives. Aside from learning how to sing really well, the idea of singing and finding one’s voice is something every child should do. I feel that it builds self-esteem, self-expression, and courage in onself.

    Some children are so afraid to express themselves and this is when bullying can start. During this past week, there was, “bullying awareness day,” and many celebrities wore the color purple and spoke out in interviews about the awareness of bullying amongst our youth. This should be stopped! It is programs like “Hands for Hope” that give children freedom of expressions and children singing in harmony with one another is a beautiful sound, which should always be heard.

    God Bless

    • Hi. Singing in joy is my first advice. Don’t judge yourself. A good voice teacher will give you the tools to help you sing better and guide you in the process. The techniques that I teach will help you to sing more note with more quality and power. If you are serious about learning these methods, you may email me at: YGTPower@aol.com
      God bless, Maria

Leave a Reply

