What’s next for Larry King?

Maria Lauren, Larry King, Marianna Riccio

 Larry King is a living legend! I’m not alone in this thinking, the biggest people in entertainment, politics and sports agree with me. President Obama called Larry King, “a giant in broadcasting.” Larry can boast to holding the world’s record for hosting the longest running TV show on the same network. After 25 years, is it time for a change? It’s sad knowing that his CNN series will no longer run, but you know what? I’m looking forward to seeing how the next chapter of his life evolves and that notion inspires me! Go, Larry, go… cheering for Larry King to take the path of a powerful life.

 A few years ago, my daughter, Marianna Riccio and I had the pleasure of being interviewed on Larry King Live. We were there to discuss Marianna’s American Idol experience. With a hint of pride before the cameras rolled, Larry told us how satellites were set up to take our interview around the world. Wow! My daughter and I could have been intimidated but we weren’t because Larry’s manner was so relaxed and engaging. We got the impression that we were going to sit down to some tea and cookies with a friend. Don’t get me wrong, his questions were probing but we never felt like we were put on the spot. He was a gracious host.

 You Tube of our interview and a clip performing in The Golddiggers (1973) and today in Showstoppers!

***

STRENGTH: “Strength does not come from winning. Your struggles develop your strengths. When you go through hardships and decide not to surrender, that is strength.” ~ Arnold Schwarzenegger

My daughter, Marianna is getting stronger and developing as an entertainer. During the taping of American Idol in 2006, she over-extended herself by juggling the pre–taping auditions with performing a leading role in a play at her university and singing with a Rock-n-Roll band. This put stress on her voice. Being the actress that she is… when the who’s who of American Idol asked the contestants to “Plead your case” before the cameras rolled, Marianna did what she was asked and brought the drama! 

Being a mom who has experienced show business, it is hard to watch my daughter make mistakes, but that’s part of the growing process of an artist. It’s called, ‘paying your dues.’ With persistence, Marianna keeps learning and perfecting her craft… it’s a journey.

 AUTHOR: Larry King knows about ‘paying his dues’ as told in his autobiography, My Remarkable Journey. This is a ‘must read,’ candid, informative and LOL funny!

PHILANTHROPY: It was heart-warming to learn that Larry King shares my passion for developing wellness programs. I applaud his social conscience and philanthropy achievements, most notably, the Larry King Cardiac Foundation for underprivileged children and adults to receive cardiac care. He seemed interested to learn that I was teaching exercise as a prescription to wellness at Kaiser Permanente and I was flattered to see him fondly remember the performances I did as The Dean Martin Golddiggers. Larry King has a dual nature. He is intelligent with a sense of humor, down-home but worldly, shy but an extrovert. He has a little of that Dean Martin charm; respectful but surprisingly a bit of a flirt.

Larry King’s journey continues… with future CNN Specials, radio, story telling, stand-up comedy and being a dad. I’m sure success will follow him because of his upbeat personality and sharp wit. No doubt Larry King is a communicator extraordinaire, but he doesn’t take this fact seriously. “It ain’t brain surgery,” he says and “I never learned anything when I was talking.” I admire how he tries to get to the truth. It seems it is easier for most people to be critical and fabricate mis-truths but not Larry. I appreciate his wise prospective.

Below is Larry King’s closing statement copied from the transcripts of our interview on Larry King Live:

KING: “Danny Kaye, one of the greatest entertainers of all time, was thrown out of an audition and told by the head of the nightclub, ‘You will never make it in show business.’ Sylvester Stallone was thrown out of the University of Miami School of Drama, ‘You have no ability to act.’ (To Marianna) Hang tough.”

RICCIO: Thank you, Larry.

What’s next for Larry King? Nothing less than the world! What’s next for you?

Blessings in the New Year!

Maria Lauren – Your Powerful LIFE

(AKA: Maria Elena Alberici – Riccio

~~~

* Marianna joins Maria and her sister Linda (Alberici Sisters) to perform in “Showstoppers.” Contact: YGTPower@aol.com

* Maria Lauren and her sister Linda Eichberg (Alberici Sisters) co-authored “Beyond Our Wildest Dreams.” This exciting book is about the entertainment icons of the 20th Century which include the Rat Pack. Available on-line at Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

* Maria Lauren is currently on-staff at Kaiser Permanente as a Lifestyle Educator, Fitness Instructor and Promoter.

Maria Lauren’s Website

Marianna Riccio’s Website

DISCLAIMER: This is a personal Blog, produced in my own time and solely reflecting my personal opinions. Statements on this site do not represent the views or policies of my employer, past or present, or any other organization with which I may be affiliated. All content is copyrighted.
5 thoughts on “What’s next for Larry King?

  1. Pingback: When life gives you lemons… squeeze it into an Olympic moment! « YourPowerfulLIFE Blog

  2. As one door closes, another one opens. This is a phrase that I have taken with me through every experience in my show business endeavors. I have never given up on what I want to achieve, and I have learned from my experiences when I have faltered. I think that during my American Idol experience, I was still developing as an artist and trying to figure out who I wanted to be musically. Also, I think that I was doing too much. Sometimes I think that I am superwoman and I can do a million and one things at the same time, yet I learned that it is better to focus on one or 2 things that are most important.

    Only great things have come my way since American Idol: radio interviews, becoming a lead vocalist in a pop girl group, singing at private celeb events in the industry, singing in “Showstoppers” the former Dean Martin Golddiggers reunion shows; acting in more plays at my college CSUN and graduating, recording more of my original pop songs, and of course Larry King Live. What an honor it was to be on Larry King’s show, meet with him and his crew and take his words of wisdom with me in my career.

    I am enjoying the present, cherish every moment and with every breath I take, and with faith in my heart, I perseverance, I know I am traveling with my best stiletto forward. xox

    • Marianna, it’s been a roller coaster ride but I like roller coasters and I love you! Remember, I’m always in your corner as you fight the good fight in your stilettos! 🙂
      Love, Mama Maria

  3. Maria, nice article. However, you should have not been surprised to find that Larry King is a flirt. He’s been married nine times! But, of course, just about everyone wants to flirt with YOU! So glad you’re my friend.

Leave a Reply

