What is a Family?

Alberici's

The Alberici Family

What does family mean to you?

My 25 answers took less than 25 minutes to write but a lifetime to find out:

1. A family is a unit of individuals sharing the same DNA but uniquely different. 

2. A family knows how to push your buttons.

3. A family is your best cheering section.

4. A family pulls you back into the fold if you go astray.

5. A family is always there with tough love.

6. A family knows how to make you laugh.

7. A family knows how to make you cry.

8. A family can affect you from the inside – out.

9. A family has an effect on your life.

10. A family can embarrass you and make you proud.

11. A family knows how to stick together.

12. A family knows how to fight, whether rough-housing or serious.

13. A family knows how to speak the truth, even when you don’t want to hear it.

14. A family is naturally competitive with primal ‘survival of the fittest’ instincts.

15. A family knows where you’ve been and has an idea of where you’re going.

16. A family does things together: eat, sleep, play, work, pray…

17. A family knows how to cooperate.

18. A family is a witness in your journey of life.

19. A family endures your struggles and celebrates your joys.

20. A family holds you up when you’re weak and pushes you down when you’re strong.

21. A family can be hard on you and soft on you too.

22. A family makes you sentimental.

23. A family is familiar ground.

24. A family knows the best of you and the worst of you and loves you anyway.

25. A family is a blessing because we are an extension of our heavenly family.

Celebrating another birthday, triggered thoughts of my family. I pondered the question, ‘Why was I born into this family?’ I’m the oldest of nine children whose parents enjoyed singing, exercise, eating healthy, praying and family time. I share their passion.

The family I was born into has grown. Now, I have a family of my own and my brothers and sisters have families of their own. To a degree, my sense of family is a part of everything I do and extends to my friends, my work and the world.

Hoping the best of your family lives on through you,

 Maria Lauren – yourpowerfullife

 (AKA: Maria Elena Alberici – Riccio)

Maria Lauren continues to make personal appearances as a Keynote Speaker in “You Got The Power,” as an Entertainer/Producer of “Showstoppers” and a Singing and Fitness Coach.  Contact: YGTPower@aol.com

 Maria’s Website: www.MariaLauren.com 

Maria Lauren and her sister, Linda Eichberg (Alberici Sisters) are authors of a book about Entertainment Legends and Family, selling on Amazon. Book Preview: www.BeyondOurWildestDreams.com

 

This is a personal Blog, produced in my own time and solely reflecting my personal opinions. Statements on this site do not represent the views or policies of my employer, past or present, or any other organization with which I may be affiliated. All content is copyrighted.
4 thoughts on “What is a Family?

  1. Dear Maria, my loving and faithful sister. Your thoughts paint a true picture of families so special to each other in their own way.

  2. I am thankful to share my journey with the greatest blessings mom and dad gave us all – our brothers and sisters! We all inherently look, posture, think, act… like we share the same roots, there is no hiding we are family! XO Alane

    • Yes, we are blessed to have each other. A Kaiser Permanente doctor described ‘Total Health’ as helping someone, loving someone and having them love you back. I guess that’s how we stay healthy!!!

Leave a Reply

