Nutrition & Family Recipes

Alberici-Family-Reunion

Alberici Family Reunion

My family is a buffet of personalities each with their own recipe for living that brings flavor to an Alberici family get-to-together. This usually leaves me with a “full” feeling, free from calories but not free from our differences or our love.

A Healthy Lifestyle…

My mom and dad raised all their nine children to eat healthy foods and made sure that fitness was part of our daily regime. People thought my parents were fanatical and we were called, “health nuts” by our peers but my parents were ahead of their time when it came to a healthy lifestyle.

Our Life became Our Message…

When my sister, Linda Eichberg and I were given the opportunity to write a book about how we grew up, as well as our experiences performing with iconic celebrities that included the Rat Pack, we said, ‘Why not!’
Here’s a short book excerpt about our childhood diet:
“Maria: We were vegetarians living in meat and potato land. It took a lot of courage to eat lunch in the cafeteria. I was the only one eating a sandwich made of brown colored bread with lots of green things like lettuce and sprouts hanging out the sides. I saw everyone staring at my lunch. I looked around at the other lunches made of bleached white bread, neatly enclosing processed cheese and bologna. It’s no wonder we didn’t mind walking a mile or more home for a hot lunch.”
~ Beyond Our Wildest Dreams, Book Copyright 2011

~~~

National Nutrition Month…

During the month of March we celebrate National Nutrition Month and my birthday! This year was a BIG birthday for me and my mom baked my favorite cake!
This recipe is non-gluten, easy to make and all my friends wanted the recipe…

Mom’s Walnut Cake with Whip Cream and Strawberries

(This non-gluten recipe was adapted from my Hungarian Grandmom’s Nut Cake)

This batter is mixed in a blender or food processor.

Bake: 20 minutes

Oven: 350°

Cool: 1 hour

Chill: 2 hours

Makes 8 servings

2 cups walnuts or pecans, (lightly toasted)

2 tablespoon flour (non-gluten flour)

2 ½ teaspoons baking powder

4 eggs

¾ cup brown sugar or fructose (honey or agave may be used but use a ¼ cup less)

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease the bottoms of two 8 by 1 ½ round cake pans. Line pans with waxed paper; grease and lightly flour pans. Set pans aside. In a medium bowl combine nuts, flour and baking powder; set aside.
  2. In a food processor or blender combine eggs and sugar. Cover and blend or process until smooth. Spread batter evenly in the prepared pans.
  3. Bake for 20 to  25 minutes until cakes spring back when lightly touched (center may dip slightly). Cool cake thoroughly.
  4. After cake is  cooled, spread strawberry jelly on each layer. Place thinly sliced strawberries over jelly.
  5. Whip ½ pint of heavy cream or whipping cream and vanilla flavor and sweeten to taste. Set aside. In another plate, lightly sprinkle sugar, agave or honey over whole or halved strawberries to be used for the top of the cake. Set aside.
  6. Place whip cream on top of strawberries and then layer the cake with more strawberries and whip cream. Cover sides of cake with whip cream and decorate the top with additional strawberries that were lightly sweetened.

(Our mom triples the recipe for our big family and uses two large sheet pans. Other fruit may be used if desired)

~~~

Good Food LA Day…

March 31st is Good Food LA Day, a citywide event dedicated to learning, celebrating and strengthening our local food system. What are your favorite healthy recipes? How do you put fitness into your lifestyle? Write me a comment!
Best wishes for health and happiness,
Maria Lauren, (aka: Maria Elena Alberici – Riccio)  
Your Powerful LIFE blog

***

My fitness and entertainment Website

maria_lauren_alberici_sisters_fitness_entertainment_contact

Beyond Our Wildest Dreams, book preview

Book Entertainment Facebook page

Alberici Sisters on Twitter  

                                                                                                     maria-lauren-fitness-motivator

‘Your Powerful LIFE’ is a blog about Living, Inspiration, Fitness, Entertainment… It is produced in my own time and solely reflects my personal opinions. Statements on this site do not represent the views or policies of my employer, past or present, or any other organization with which I may be affiliated. All content is copyrighted.
11 thoughts on “Nutrition & Family Recipes

  1. Pingback: When life gives you lemons… squeeze it into an Olympic moment! « YourPowerfulLIFE Blog

  2. Thank you Michael for your wonderful poem. So clever! I appreciate the warm and lovely thoughts about my parents & family. Many blessing to you and Nancy!
    All the best, Linda Alberici Eichberg

    • Hello Linda – I hope that you had a wonderful Easter. Through this blog and Maria’s on-line site, I was fortunate to learn about the book you co-wrote with your sister. What a wonderful story (I have purchased Beyond Our Wildest Dreams). In reading this blog, I was really excited about your Mom’s walnut cake. I am always looking for healthy, but delicious recipes. The cake was great! Being a poet, I thought something with a rhyme might be nice. You are blessed to have such a wonderful family, and I am enjoying learning more about your fantastic experience with Dean Martin and the group. An amazing story. I am about to publish a book called: Positively America. I have established a web site for it by the same name on facebook. It would be wonderful to have you join the page, and add your positivity to our group. If you would like, I will send you a friend request. Thank you for the nice note, and have a great week.

      Best Regards, Michael Kincade

  3. Hello Maria Lauren – As you know I have recently become acquainted with your blog and have already learned so much from reading it. You blend your amazing show business back ground, with your expertise on the issue of wellness, and also give such a wonderful perspective of your love of God, and your wonderful family. It is indeed refreshing, entertaining, and educational. I too have a facebook site which I use to both give status updates on my soon to be published book: Positively America. ( Facebook Keyword: Positively America – page) I am pleased the site has also become one where we share positive ideas, thoughts, and experiences to promote positivity in our country and world. I must tell you one of the best things I have done was to find your Mother’s Walnut cake with whipped cream and strawberries. I immediately bought the ingredients and made it for my wife. I cannot tell you how wonderful it was and in appreciation I have written the following poem for your amazing mother.

    Mrs. Alberici’s Walnut Cake

    While reading postings on Maria Lauren’s blog site,
    I discovered an amazing recipe, that really made my night.

    I thought to myself: Am I awake or is this a dream?
    As I baked a healthy walnut cake, replete with strawberries and whipped cream.

    To surprise my wife Nancy, I baked it and she was amazed to see,
    Not only was it so delicious, but it is also gluten free.

    Mrs. Alberici, you raised an amazing family, smart, talented, possessing your good looks,
    And to complete their successful upbring you made sure they were all good and healthy cooks.

    I know you and your husband raised nine children, a truly amazing feat,
    But even more amazing to me was how your husband made them understand that vegetables were treats.

    I have read they were all healthy, of this I am sure you were pleased,
    As many of their friends were not so fit, eating their baloney and cheese.

    I am happy to write this poem for you, it clearly was so much fun,
    The only question that remains, Mrs. Alberici, do you have room in your heart for another son???

    • Michael, so sweet of you to write a poem about my mom’s walnut cake. I’m sure your comments will make her day!
      Thank you for starting your page, “Positively America” on Facebook. I get such a good feeling when I visit it and I know my readers will “Like” it too! 😉
      You are a blessing!
      Maria Lauren

      • Hello Maria – I hope you had a most blessed Easter weekend with your family. I am glad you liked the poem and hope that your mom does as well. It was fun to write it, and as I said, the cake was just awesome. My wife was so impressed. 🙂 As you can see below, I received two very nice emails from Linda and Alane. I just feel very honored to get to know such a warm, spiritual, and talented family. Thank you for allowing me to write the poem, and for all your support for my page and book. After reading some online reviews of your book, I purchased my own copy. It was just the best time in entertainment, and this will be a treasured addition to our library. I know I will read it many times. Thank you again for all you do for the betterment of our world. I greatly appreciate getting to know you. Best Regards, Michael

      • Michael, your gracious thoughts and sentiments are appreciated. I can see that positivity is part of your nature! Hope you and your wife enjoy our book, “Beyond Our Wildest Dreams”. 🙂 Best of luck in the publishing of your book, “Positively America” too.
        God bless,
        Maria Lauren

    • Michael,
      What an adorable poem! Happy to hear from a kindred spirit.
      God bless. – Alane (aka sister of Maria)

      • Hello Alane (Sister of Maria :)) – Thank you for your kind note. I have been fortunate to meet Maria through her web site and also this blog. I have learned so much from her, not least of which was finding you Mom’s amazing cake. I made it for my wife and she was very impressed. I also have enjoyed reading about your family, and am inspired by the great job your parents did raising nine children. It is also alway one of life’s great moments to meet a kindred spirit. I have a book called Positively America, which will soon be released. It is a collection of poems I have written over time, that reflect the goodness of America. I just feel we are surrounded by opportunities for negativity, and this just not the best way to use this precious time God has given to us. On my web site, we share positive thoughts, ideas, and experiences. Maria is making a huge contribution to our page. I hope you will join us as well. Simply keyword: Positively America. Thank you again for the kind note, I appreciate it very much. Best Regards, Michael Kincade

  4. Pingback: Cooking: Quick and healthy recipes | Easy Healthy Recipes

    • A variety of cook books on this link selling on Amazon. The Alberici Sisters’ book, “Beyond Our Wildest Dreams” is selling on Amazon too!
      When I was growing up, my family made healthy candy out of natural, raw ingredients. My sister and I write about these recipes in our book.
      Yours in health,
      Maria Lauren

Leave a Reply

