Silver Linings & Beyond

Maria-Lauren-(aka:-Maria-Elena-Alberici-Riccio)--Motivational-Fitness-Coach

Maria Lauren (aka: Maria Elena Alberici -Riccio) – Motivational Fitness Coach, Entertainer, Author

“This is what I believe to be true… you have to do everything you can, you have to work your hardest. If you stay positive, you have a shot at a silver lining.”

The motivating words above are taken from ‘The Silver Linings Playbook’ by Matthew Quick, an American author, who was born in 1973.  His book was successfully adapted into a movie, skillfully written and directed by David O. Russell and starring the talented actors, Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, Robert De Niro and Chris Tucker.

The movie is set in the suburbs outside of Philadelphia, the stomping grounds where I grew up with my big Italian, Hungarian family. Now living in the Los Angeles Valley, I felt right at home as I recognized the ‘Delco’ Delaware County area. Sparking my memory were familiar sights, diners and landmarks like Archbishop Prendergast (all-girl) High School, ‘Prendie,’ where I went to school for 3 years until my family moved further into the suburbs.

“You need to make time for your family no matter what happens in your life.” ~ Matthew Quick

At times, Robert De Niro’s stature reminded me of my dad in his later years. Love of family was strong for us and it was also apparent in this movie. Acceptance of each other was the underlining theme. Especially during the crazy scenes when obsessive compulsive behavior took over the lives of the characters whether it was for sports, in this case, the Philadelphia Eagles or a relationship gone wrong. Through it all, caring was paramount. “Let me tell ya. You gotta pay attention to signs… I’m telling you.” 

silver-linings-playbook-deniro

Robert De Niro captured the essence of Delco/Philly!

While watching the movie, I could see some of the same decor that filled our home and it brought a smile to my face to hear speech patterns of “Philly” slang. My dad was brought up in South Philly and would often blurt out phrases with an Italian passion/charm, “… You son of a gun! … You’re full of baloney! … Bunk! … Get the heck out of here! … Whatta you crazy? … Hiya! …”

“A Powerful LIFE” starts with family. My dad was always thinking of ways to make an extra dollar “buck” for his family of nine children. He would always encourage us and energize himself into action with positive sayings similar to the quotes said in the movie. “If clouds are blocking the sun, there will always be a silver lining that reminds me to keep on trying.” 

To earn a “buck,” dad and his brothers (Alberici Brothers) provided economical wedding receptions at the “Delco Catering Halls.” This is where my sisters and I first developed our craft as singers. The building has since been torn down but the location was fertile soil for our roots as we entered the world of entertainment, television, Hollywood, Las Vegas…!

Dean-Martin-&-Alberici-Sisters-book,-Beyond-Our-Wildest-Dreams

Dean Martin & Alberici Sisters

We were barely out of High School, despite having been out on only a date or two, our first New York audition sent us to Hollywood to join Dean Martin’s Golddiggers. What a colorful life my sister and I have lived!? We wrote a book about it!

Beyond Our Wildest Dreams is about our (Alberici Sisters) show business journey with legends like Dean Martin and Frank Sinatra with a peek into our family upbringing while living in the outskirts of Philadelphia.

We still have a blast entertaining…

Clips of the Alberici Sisters with Dean Martin

& Entertaining Today (New on You Tube!)

 ***

January 2013 News!

The ‘Silver Linings’ of a Powerful LIFE!

Healthy Habits for LIFE: Our family has always focused on the health and fitness of body, mind and spirit. We prayed together and still apply these values to our children.

Health is a Choice: View the Alberici Sisters article in the Desert Health News, Children Taught Healthy Habits Often Keep Them For Life

~~~

Rose Bowl Parade and Kaiser Permanente’s message: Our award-winning float entry in the Rose Bowl Parade was called, “Oh, the healthy things you can do!”  I am proud to work as a Lifestyle Educator at Kaiser Permanente in the Southern California area of Panorama City and Santa Clarita. Besides serving our patients with health care, we provide health education and fitness classes: Kaiser Permanente Health Education classes.  It is very rewarding for me to teach the “healthy things you can do” like Yoga, Tai Chi, Pilates and Dance exercise and teach our members to thrive!

~~~

“Everybody can be great because everybody can serve… You only need a heart full of grace.” ~ Martin Luther King Jr.

Inauguration on Martin Luther King Day: This month inspired hope in my heart as I witnessed a double celebration; remembering Martin Luther King Day and viewing the 2013 President Inauguration of Obama. The inauguration was a beautiful ceremony but the highlight for me was the poem, ‘One Today’ recited and penned by poet, Richard Blanco. My deep knowing that Americans are “one nation under God” brought tears to my eyes while listening to Richard Blanco’s inspiring and descriptive words: “One sun rose for us today, kindled over our shores…”

~~~

Remember to look for the silver linings in your life. “I don’t want to stay in the bad place, where no one believes in silver linings or love or happy endings.” ~ Matthew Quick

Many Blessing,

Maria Lauren – Your Powerful LIFE blog

(aka) Maria Elena Alberici – Riccio

***

“Beyond Our Wildest Dreams” book blog 

Maria’s Website

Contact Maria: YGTPower@aol.com

  • Keynote Speaker: “You Got The Power”
  • Entertainer: “Showstoppers”
  • Book Signings: “Beyond Our Wildest Dreams”
  • Motivational Fitness Coach and Singing Coach

Maria-Lauren-Alberici-Riccio-You-Got-The-PowerThis is a blog about LIFE: Living, Inspiration, Fitness, Entertainment. It is produced in my own time and solely reflects my personal opinions. Statements on this site do not represent the views or policies of my employer, past or present, or any other organization with which I may be affiliated. All content is copyrighted.

4 thoughts on “Silver Linings & Beyond

  1. First I saw an exquisite sunrise; then I saw the You Tube performances.
    I might as well go back to bed…..the day doesn’t need to get any better.

Leave a Reply

