Powerful Support To Overcome Fears

Maria_Lauren_Fitness_Motivation

Maria Lauren, (aka) Maria Elena Alberici – Riccio

It’s been a busy month! There’s always something! And sometimes that “something” can push us over the edge! Crash! Thank God for family, friends and sometimes strangers coming to the rescue. Every act of kindness is a gift and can be a powerful support when we are feeling powerless, anxious or just spent!

An anxious heart creates anxiety. “An anxious heart weighs a man down, but a kind word cheers him up.” Proverbs 12:25

It takes not only courage but grace to live a powerful life. This year it is my desire to give support to powerful people who have overcome obstacles and fear to make a positive difference in their lives and in the lives of others.

~~~

A Powerful Life…

 Heather Von St. James is a cancer survivor, who did not let fear control her. I was touched by her pro-active approach:

 “Hi there! The reason I have reached out to you is because of your blog! My name is Heather and I am an 8-year survivor of mesothelioma – a rare cancer caused by asbestos exposure.

When I was diagnosed, I had just given birth to my little girl and was told I had 15 months to live. After undergoing a risky surgery, which required the removal of my left lung, I beat the odds and created “Lung Leavin’ Day” as a way to commemorate this day that changed my life forever…”

Heather's family

Heather’s family – Powerful living

Thank you Heather for sharing your inspirational story. I invite you to check out her interactive website and the creative, fun way in which she has overcome her fears. Join her! Lung Leavin’ Day is February 2nd; a fund-raiser for mesothelioma awareness. You Got The Power!

~~~

A Powerful Food…

 As part of the healthy workforce at Kaiser Permanente, I am delighted to share the following studies about tumeric: The active compound in tumeric, curcumin, fights inflammation and even reduces knee pain from osteoarthritis as much as ibuprofen. It can also help with stomach upset, delay liver damage, Alzheimer’s disease and inhibit the growth of cancer.

tumeric-healing-powerful

Tumeric contains manganese, iron, vitamin B6, fiber, copper and potassium. It is used in curry recipes and has a mustard color. It mixes well with ginger and can be used as a tea. I sprinkle some cinnamon and tumeric on honey butter and then spread it on my toast. I also mix this combo in my morning coffee or put it in a smoothie.

Tumeric has been called, “The Wonder Spice” by many athletes and celebrities because it relieves sore muscles. Michael Caine boasts that it boosts his memory.

~~~

Alberici_Sisters_fitness_motivatorsBeing an active fitness instructor, I depend on food to fuel me.

My sister Linda Eichberg is also a certified fitness instructor and shares super food information on her blog post, Enriching Your Life With Super Foods.

Enjoy!

~~~

Fear can be immobilizing but I have found that keeping my faith alive by trusting God to be  present in my life and in the lives of those who are there for me, helps me to move forward. Now, that is powerful support!

My New Years resolution is to ponder on thoughts that make my heart smile; happy thoughts that lighten my mood and make my spirit fly! (Almost like Peter Pan, huh?)

 

Peter-Pan-quote

Smile and make some happy memories!

Love is forever,

Maria Lauren, (aka) Maria Elena Alberici – Riccio

Your Powerful LIFE blog

***

My Website  

Contact: YGTPower@aol.com

  • Keynote Speaker: “You Got The Power”
  • Entertainer: “Showstoppers”
  • Book Signings: “Beyond Our Wildest Dreams”
  • Motivational Fitness Coach and Singing Coach

 

Maria-Lauren-MotivationThis is a personal Blog, produced in my own time and solely reflecting my personal opinions. Statements on this site do not represent the views or policies of my employer, past or present, or any other organization with which I may be affiliated. All content is copyrighted.

 

6 thoughts on “Powerful Support To Overcome Fears

  1. I loved that quote from the lyrics to Mary Martin’s Peter Pan (which was a definitive part of my childhood) by two of my personal favorites, Betty Comden and Adolph Green, whom I had the great pleasure of meeting on several occasions (I have autographed copies of several of their cast album LP’s, including On the Town, which they co-wrote with Leonard Bernstein in 1944). When I met Jamie Bernstein Thomas, the composer/conductor’s eldest daughter, I told her that although I had never met her father, I had made the acquaintance of Comden and Green, and she said that was close enough!

    I am also very proud to have had Maria as a high school classmate,

    • Robbie, you are a wealth of musical knowledge! Thank you for being an advocate for music, entertainment and our book. It was a pleasure for my sister Linda and I to meet up with you last year and sign our book, “Beyond Our Wildest Dream.” Wishing you continued success!

  2. Maria, thanks for sharing Heather’s story. Like Heather, the brother of a friend of mine also has mesothelioma. He recently had surgery to remove the lining of his lungs. So far it has improved his condition. I am in awe of the courage these families who face this challenge and stay positive. They are an inspiration to us all.

    • Linda, your friend will most likely be interested in Heather’s inspiring website and the event on 2/2. I wish him healing and continued strength.
      I have no doubt that you are helping many with your work in fitness and charity.
      Blessings.

Leave a comment