Streisand – Excellence – The Oscars

Barbra-Streisand--A-Powerful-LIFE

Barbra Streisand – A Powerful LIFE

Getting ready to watch the Oscars… Anticipation is high… Barbra Streisand is performing!

Barbra Joan Streisand is an American singer, actress, writer, film producer, and director with the distinction of being one of the few entertainers to win an Oscar, Emmy, Grammy and Tony Award.

CNN Interview:

MORGAN: Are you a perfectionist?

STREISAND: I am proud to say I am. But there is no such thing as perfection, and I found that out when I was 15 years old. I wrote it in my journal, that perfection is imperfection. So it has that humanity, like human quality. Otherwise it’s too cold, right? You can just strive for perfection. Another word is excellence, strive for excellence.

The Oscars:

It is long over-do for Barbra Streisand to bring her “excellence” to the 2013 Academy Award Ceremony. The last time she performed at the Oscars was 36 years ago. Not only will we celebrate this year’s array of best movies but the promise of enjoying a night of music makes my heart flutter.

Producers Crag Zadan and Neil Meron, who brought “Chicago” and “Hairspray” to the movie screen and “Smash” to the television screen are pulling together some wonderful talent: Adele, Nora Jones, Jennifer Hudson, Catherine Zeta-Jones and the cast of “Les Misarable.” There is a buzz that Shirley Bassey will do a musical tribute to the James Bond movies and Streisand will commemorate the music of the late composer, Marvin Hamlisch. There is little doubt that whatever Barbra Streisand sings her performance promises to be both powerful and full of star quality.

CNN Interview:

MORGAN: You wanted to be a star?

STREISAND: I think when I was younger, I wanted to be a star, until I became a star, and then it’s a lot of work. It’s work to be a star. I don’t enjoy the stardom part. I only enjoy the creative process.

Streisand’s Charity:

Barbra Streisand uses her stardom to create events to raise money for charities. The Streisand Foundation gives grants to national organizations working on preservation of the environment, voter education, nuclear disarmament the protection of civil rights, women’s issues and women’s health. According to The Hollywood Reporter, Ms. Streisand has raised $22 million to boost a research fund to fight heart disease among women.

The Grammy’s:

Included in Streisand’s showcase of awards are eight Grammy Awards. This year’s Grammy’s was a colorful palette of music which included performances from Kelly Clarkson, Elton John, Rihanna, Bruno Marks and Alicia Keys. Loved the swag of Justin Timberlake but most impressive to me was Carrie Underwood, who looked like a beautiful princess as her gown took on a life of its own. She was a vision as pastel patterns of light enhanced her full-skirted gown which captured designs like a movie screen. The songs finale took on a fairy-tale dimension as a kaleidoscope of delicate cartoon-like butterflies flew off her gown to light-up the theater.

Watching the Grammy’s, I couldn’t help but miss seeing talents such as Streisand, a star with longevity. I remember the day Dean Martin of Rat Pack fame was honored with a Grammy Life-time Achievement Award. Now, that was a celebration! Memories of Dean Martin – Grammy Award.

Alberici-Sisters-book--Beyond-Our-Wildest-Dreams

Alberici Sisters book – Legendary Stars!

My sister and I wrote a book (Alberici Sisters) about a special time in show business during the 70’s. “BEYOND OUR WILDEST DREAMS” puts the spotlight on the entertainment icons with whom we performed and who have inspired us, like Streisand:

Memory of Barbra Streisand:

Maria: We heard a lot of buzz about the hits coming out of the Record Plant, in Hollywood, so we decided to record one of our original songs there. It was a very impressive studio with gold albums covering the walls with labels from the hottest albums of the last decade. In walked Linda and I, we must have seemed so green to the staff. When our time was up we asked if we could continue recording but the sound engineer said, “Sorry, we have Barbra Streisand booked.” I thought he was kidding but when I walked through the back sound doors, I almost smacked right into Barbra herself. There was maybe an inch between us so I had to focus to recognize her. At once I sensed her charismatic confidence and then I saw her luminous skin. She was radiant. I was told that she was finishing up tracks for her album, “Lazy Afternoon,” one of my favorites. ~ Book excerpt, Beyond Our Wildest Dreams

Almost time for the Oscars… have to get off the computer now!

Enjoy,

Maria Lauren – YourPowerfulLIFE (Aka: Maria Elena Alberici – Riccio)

* OSCAR’S 2013 UPDATE! One of the best ever! Seth MacFarlane does a fab hosting job! First Lady Obama surprise!

My Website

Book Website

FOR PERSONAL APPEARANCES – Contact: YGTPower@aol.com

  • Keynote Speaker
  • Entertainer
  • Book Signing

Maria-Lauren-Alberici-Riccio-You-Got-The-PowerThis is a blog about LIFE: Living, Inspiration, Fitness, Entertainment… It is produced in my own time and solely reflects my personal opinions. Statements on this site do not represent the views or policies of my employer, past or present, or any other organization with which I may be affiliated. All content is copyrighted.

2 thoughts on “Streisand – Excellence – The Oscars

    • The entertainment on the Oscars was a delight! Your views and politics about the movie, “Lincoln” was interesting… I also wrote about “Lincoln” a few posts ago… it’s nice to read different takes of the movie. Thanks for posting the picture of the former Dean Martin Golddiggers in “Showstoppers.” Insightful blog, Linda!

Leave a Reply

