Dad’s Motivation – Weight of the Nation

.Maria-Lauren-(aka:-Maria-Elena-Alberici--Riccio)-National-Fitness-Champion

MARIA LAUREN (aka: Maria Elena Alberici – Riccio)

Our life’s values start with our family and what is valued by our parents.

I was fortunate to have parents that taught their nine children, “How to”… How to eat healthfully, How to be fit, How to have good work ethics, How to pray…

When I was growing up, every morning I saw my mom preparing natural foods and my father on the porch doing exercises. In the picture above, I am about 19 years old and frequently used dad’s exercise cables for better muscle conditioning and jumped on our family trampoline for the health benefits of aerobic activity. I was so lucky to have parents who taught their children how important health and fitness was for a good quality of life.

As Fathers Day approaches, I am grateful to my dad for his motivation that has inspired me all of my life. Also blessed to have a husband who is always on the job as dad to our daughter, now a young woman but still our baby.

What are your favorite memories of your dad? Our dads are important. How was your dad a motivation to you? Remember him on Fathers Day!

As many of my blogger friends know, I presently work as a Lifestyle Educator/ Fitness Instructor  at Kaiser Permanente. I’m proud to be part of the Health Education department as they provide patients with the knowledge to have a better quality of life.

The Weight of the Nation: an HBO program partnering with Kaiser Permanente. The Weight of the Nation films include case studies; uplifting personal stories of people, families, and community members who are tackling weight issues; and interviews with our nation’s leading experts.

  • Episode 1 — Consequences: Examines the scope of the obesity epidemic and explores the serious health consequences of being overweight or obese.
  • Episode 2 — Choices: Shares scientific insights into how to lose weight and explores what needs to change in people’s lives, including where they work, eat, learn and play, while spotlighting individuals who are waging the battle successfully.
  • Episode 3 — Children in Crisis: Tells the heart-wrenching stories of young people struggling with excess weight and facing serious medical complications at an early age, and examines how marketing shapes food choices.
  • Episode 4 — Challenges: Examines the driving forces behind the obesity epidemic, including agriculture, economics, evolutionary biology, racial and socioeconomic disparities, and physical inactivity. 
  • HBO’s site for community activation kits and more

Kudos to HBO, Kaiser Permanente and the many professionals who help launch Weight of the Nation, as well as our First Lady, Michelle Obama for her Let’s Move campaign and her good example of promoting fitness and stopping obesity in our nation.

Fitness: You can start being more fit by adding 15 minutes a day of exercise to your lifestyle. Do something you enjoy! Mix it up! Strengthen your muscles by doing resistance training and strengthen your heart by doing aerobic training. Exercise is a prescription for health

Entertainment: Dancing is a good exercise and another season of Dancing with the Stars has ended. I must admit, the highlight for me was seeing the Chmerkovskiy Brothers, Maksim and Val break a sweat and strut their stuff! Isn’t it time for you to move your body, break a sweat and have fun doing it? Dance like a star! (Past Dancing with the Stars moments etc…)

Sexy! Melissa Gilbert with Maksim Chmerkovskiy & Val Chmerkovskiy dance a Trio Samba in Week 8 of 2012:


Last but not least…

Memorial Day: Take a moment with me to remember those who have known the perils of combat… thinking of my father-in-law, Anthony Riccio who was awarded the purple heart.

God bless America and God bless you,

Maria Lauren – yourpowerfullife

(AKA: Maria Elena Alberici – Riccio)

 ***

Fitness and Entertainment, Contact: YGTPower@aol.com

  • Keynote Speaker: “You Got The Power”
  • Entertainer and Producer: “Showstoppers”
  • Book Signings
  • Singing or Fitness Coach…

Book by the Alberici Sisters, Maria Lauren and her sister Linda Eichberg: Beyond Our Wildest Dreams tells backstage stories about the Entertainment Icons of the 20th Century!

WOMEN ARE POWERFUL! Maria has the distinct honor of being the first woman in body-building to win two national championships in one year.

Maria’s Website  

Kaiser Permanente’s Health Education fitness classes 

DISCLAIMER: This is a personal Blog, produced in my own time and solely reflecting my personal opinions. Statements on this site do not represent the views or policies of my employer, past or present, or any other organization with which I may be affiliated. All content is copyrighted.
6 thoughts on “Dad’s Motivation – Weight of the Nation

  1. My fondest memory of granddad is when he was visiting us in California (might have been one of his last trips here) and I made sure I made a sugarless carob (chocolate substitute) brownie pizza cookie. I bought all natural honey vanilla ice cream to go with it. Desserts, even healthy frozen banana pie made my grandfather “dopey.” Of course, granddad had to make a comment about how I should have bought goat’s milk ice cream because a goat is more the size of a human; a cow is bigger and their milk contains more fat. No matter, granddad was sitting outside on my backyard patio, and he had his piece of pie with bananas and had a small scoop of ice cream to go with it. He said, “Mmmmm, Marianna this is gooood.” I was sooo happy he approved. 🙂 Then, I see him slowly bring the carton of ice cream closer to him, and my grandfather slowly began eating from the carton almost like he was hypnotized, very “dopey” from sweet treats. Then I said, “Granddad, why are you eating from the carton of ice cream?” And he woke up from his trance; eyes popped, and said, “How did this get here? Get outta here!” He pushed the almost empty ice cream carton away and the whole family laughed! I was on the floor cracking up.
    The END.

    I have too many memories of my daddy to even start here! All I can say is my dad and both my granddads love with all their being, and my dad optimizes that ideal. He is the definition of a father, even though we may butt heads at time, I still love him dearly.

    GIVE YOUR DAD A HUG TODAY!
    Blessings,
    Marianna

  2. Maria, two stories come to mind the minute I think about dad, one not so pleasant and one that is and has stuck with me ever since I heard it from dad.

    The bad one was playing softball at a park near mom and dad’s home like we always did when we visited the family in PA. Dad had this tree he used for a bat. I’m not kidding it was probably a size 38 bat almost too heavy for anyone to lift, but dad.

    One time at bat with this gigantic bat and while I was standing behind dad lost control of the bat and hit me in the left shin causing bleeding and an indentation to the bone. I carry that same scar and indentation to this day.

    The best was dad telling me when I was sick as a dog in Atlantic City, “If you can’t run walk, if you can’t walk crawl, if you can’t crawl, wiggle like a snake.” Those are words I’ve had to live by too many times since then, but I always think about dad’s sage advice.

    • Steve, thanks for sharing those stories. I forgot about the bat story! Dad always liked a challenge and pushed himself to the limit but he had unbelievable energy. Sometimes there were repercussions…’Watch out for flying bats!’ 😉

      You and all my brother-in-laws are a blessing and add a priceless dimension to our family dynamics!

    • Steve, I remember playing in the park in CA and PA…fun times. Now that you mention it. I have a dent in my shin bone as well, but don’t recall when or how it occurred. Anyway, dad’s bat is a Jackie Robinson model and is more like a size 34 or 35. I have it in my garage. When I want to impress the kids, I take it out to field and tell them the stories of dad hitting some onto the roof top of the elementary school. With it’s thick handle it feels like a telephone pole when you make contact with the ball.

      I also remember a story about dad showing up at Tony Taylor’s house from the Phillies. He lived nearby and dad gave him a bottle of Vitamin C to help get him some hits in the playoffs.

      • Funny story about the vitamins! Dad was always trying to help people reach their highest potential… he was such a Phillies fan! That baseball bat is an heirloom! I can just see the wide-eyed expression of your beautiful children when you tell them the stories surrounding dad’s baseball bat! Thanks, brother! 🙂

Leave a Reply

